August Update

Here’s a wee confession and an explanation for why I haven’t been writing much here recently.

First of all, I’ve spent the last couple of months trying to cobble together ideas for my creative writing. I start a Masters programme in the autumn, you see, so I’ve been working out potential ideas for future writing projects to keep myself busy. Mainly I’ve been flexing my literary muscles on what will hopefully one day be a full-length novel but, for the moment, is about ten thousand words of random, barely-connected slabs and shards of prose. There’s also a play in the pipeline, along with a bunch of other ideas for future books, but at the moment it’s all a bit cluttered and sparse – much like my frame of mind at the moment. With all that scurrying about my head, I haven’t had much time to think about this blog, and that’s sad. Mostly for me, because I would like to keep this blog going for the foreseeable future.

Now, I will soon start reviewing the second series of Red Dwarf and maybe some current television programmes (though the summer TV schedules are pretty quiet at the moment), so that’s on the table. I have been listening to a fair amount of music recently, a lot of it new, but I think I’ve come to a not-so-startling revelation based on my two album reviews for this blog, and it’s that I’m no good at music criticism. I mean, when it comes to actual analysis of the music I’d say I’m okay, pretty decent at best, but the whole premise of me reviewing an album is somewhat flawed. I’m not on Spotify, you see, and I’m not a big fan of MP3 downloads, so I buy all my albums on hard-copy with my own pocket money – and I only really buy albums from artists I like, so there’s not much to say about anything I’ve been listening to other than, “yeah, this is good, I like this, you should hear it”. I’ve had several half-finished album reviews cluttering up my drafts list for a long time now because I haven’t been able to find anything interesting to say about the albums. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve enjoyed them all, but what is there that’s fascinating or amusing to say about that? All I could do is just describe how each song or each album is good in a different way to the previous one – and if you think that’s boring to read, just imagine how boring it is to write.

That’s why that’s stalled, but what I think I’ll start doing as soon as I can is to write about pop music. I’m not one of these people who thinks we’re going through a particularly awful time for pop music at the moment because, let’s face it, the mainstream music scene has always been a bit rubbish. I used to review new pop singles quite regularly on my old blog, normally just making fun of them by analysing the lyrics and stuff, but if there was a song I liked I’d give it its due. Since I started writing this blog I’ve been watching a lot of Todd in the Shadows and Luke Giordano’s This Song Sucks, and both have inspired me to start writing humorous piffle about pop songs again. I’ll probably be sticking to the more famous stuff crawling up the charts, though, because a) it’d be overly mean to pick on a struggling artist who clearly cares about their music; b) it’s easier and more cathartic to make fun of artists who are clearly shilling themselves out for cash and fame without any thought for how it might be affecting their product; and c) a third reason.

So I’ll hopefully start doing that again here soon, but I’d also like to write about rock music and all the stuff in my record collection (which is pretty large and constantly growing). There’s also lot of great rock music being put out there right now as well that the mainstream press is just outright ignoring, so I’d like to give those artists a bit more traffic. As for creative writing bases stuff I wouldn’t mind putting up some poetry or short stories, or maybe even some sort of serial. I’ve had several poems published online, so apparently I’m quite good at it. We’ll see, anyway.

For the time being, though, here’s some Hollies, because why not?

One comment

Leave a Reply

